Gladiator Regiment Band member Michael Martinez joins Crossmen

Image: Taz with his parents, Michael and Yvonne, on Senior Night — Italy Gladiator Regiment band member Michael Taz Martinez has been selected to join Crossmen, a world class drum corps that performs all around the nation. However, with an expectant cost of $3,000.00, Taz needs our assistance to help complete this amazing life-changing journey he is about to undertake.

Taz with his parents, Michael and Yvonne, on Senior Night — Italy Gladiator Regiment band member Michael Taz Martinez has been selected to join Crossmen, a world class drum corps that performs all around the nation. However, with an expectant cost of $3,000.00, Taz needs our assistance to help complete this amazing life-changing journey he is about to undertake. (Barry Byers)

Dear Friend,

I have recently been selected to perform as a member of the World Class Crossmen Drum Corps for the 2011 season. Over six hundred individuals from around the world auditioned for the corps, and I earned a position as a trumpet player in the ensemble. As a member of the Crossmen, I will train in San Antonio, Texas one weekend per month through May, before spending the summer traveling across the United States to perform and compete in the Drum Corps International Summer Music Games.

On the surface, the Crossmen is comprised of 150 youth performers, who excel in one of three areas: brass, percussion, and color guard. We spend the summer learning, performing, and competing with a production that combines the music, theatrics, and pageantry of your high school and college marching bands, with the talent and innovation of productions such as BLAST! and Cirque de Soleil. We will travel the country for approximately ten weeks, and end our season at the DCI World Championships in Indianapolis, Indiana.

More importantly, however, the Crossmen teaches discipline, responsibility, and skills that will benefit me far beyond my time as a member of the performing ensemble. The corps is truly a family and a brotherhood, and I am proud to be a part of the tradition that is the Crossmen.

In order to participate in the Crossmen this summer, each member of the organization is required to pay approximately $3000.00 in member and touring fees. The price of membership includes travel, instruction, food, uniforms, equipment, housing, and many other expenses incurred over the tour.

Currently, I am seeking sponsorship donations to help offset the cost of membership in the Crossmen. Any size donation would make an enormous difference in my ability to participate with the corps and there are a couple of ways you can assist me on my journey. Details are on our website at www.crossmen.org.

You can contribute to my summer fees by submitting a check directly to Crossmen Productions, Inc. for the amount you wish to donate. Please indicate in a brief note that you are choosing to support me, Michael Martinez / Italy, Texas, in the memo section of the check (Not Tax-deductible).

Mail checks to:
Crossmen Productions, Inc.
PO Box 591940
San Antonio, Texas 78259

Also, I am personally accepting donations. If you require additional information, my telephone number is 972-825-2836 and my e-mail is yvonne_acevedo@yahoo.com. Thank you for your consideration.

Mail checks to:
Yvonne Acevedo
101 W. Dilworth
Italy, Texas 76651

Sincerely,
Michael Taz Martinez

Crossmen Website Calendar

  • Saturday, May 28 through Tuesday, June 21, 2011
    San Antonio, Texas
    Spring Training-Everyday-All day
  • Wednesday, June 22, 2011
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    All day
  • Thursday, June 23, 2011
    Fairfield, Ohio
    All day
  • Saturday, June 25, 2011
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    All day
  • Sunday, June 26, 2011
    Washington D.C.
    All day
  • Monday, June 27, 2011
    Clifton, New Jersey
    All day
  • Wednesday, June 29, 2011
    Bridgeport, Connecticut
    All day
  • Friday, July 1, 2011
    Ft. Edward, New York
    All day
  • Saturday, July 2, 2011
    TBA, New Hampshire
    All day
  • Sunday, July 3, 2011
    Lynn, Maine
    All day
  • Wednesday, July 6, 2011
    Bristol, Rhode Island
    All day
  • Thursday, July 7, 2011
    Ewing, New Jersey
    All day
  • Friday, July 8, 2011
    Akron, Ohio
    All day
  • Monday, July 11, 2011
    Bowling Green, Ohio
    All day
  • Tuesday, July 12, 2011
    Davenport, Iowa
    All day
  • Wednesday, July 13, 2011
    Metamora, Illinois
    All day
  • Saturday, July 16, 2011
    Paddock Lake, Wisconsin
    All day
  • Monday, July 18, 2011
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    All day
  • Tuesday, July 19, 2011
    Kansas City, Missouri
    All day
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2011
    Wichita, Kansas
    All day
  • Friday, July 22, 2011
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    All day
  • Saturday, July 23, 2011
    Odessa, Texas
    All day
  • Monday, July 25, 2011
    San Antonio, Texas
    All day
  • Thursday, July 28, 2011
    Dallas, Texas
    All day
  • Saturday, July 30, 2011
    Milton, Florida
    All day
  • Monday, August 1, 2011
    Atlanta, Georgia
    All day
  • Tuesday, August 2, 2011
    Sevierville, Tennessee
    All day
  • Thursday, August 4, 2011
    Charleston, West Virginia
    All day
  • Saturday, August 6, 2011
    Warrenton, Virginia
    All day
  • Sunday, August 7, 2011
    Allentown, Pennsylvania
    All day
  • Tuesday, August 9, 2011
    Erie, Pennsylvania
    All day
  • Thursday, August 11 through Saturday, August 13, 2011
    Masillon, OH
    • Quarter Finals – Thursday All day
    • Semi Finals – Friday All day
    • Finals – Saturday All day