Italy FCCLA and FFA Awards Program

Image: Mrs. Hyles has happy tears — Mrs. Hyles was honored with a standing ovation at the FCCLA & FFA Banquet this week.  After 39 years, retirement is in her future.

Mrs. Hyles has happy tears — Mrs. Hyles was honored with a standing ovation at the FCCLA & FFA Banquet this week. After 39 years, retirement is in her future. (Anne Sutherland)

Italy High School was the site of the 61st Annual FCCLA (Family Career & Community Leaders of America) and FFA (Future Farmers of America) banquet this week. Awards were given after a wonderful meal of lasagna, salad, bread and dessert. Steve Gaylord was the special guest speaker for the evening.

School Board members, family and friends gathered at the dome Monday night to honor the members of the FCCLA and FFA. A special moment was given to Ann Hyles, one of the sponsors of the program, for her outstanding career of 39 years. She will be retiring at the end of the this school year and will be missed.

Steve Gaylord, guest speaker, spoke to all the members and guests about attitude. “Attitude starts as babies and shapes your future. Everyday get up and be positive about what you are going to accomplish, focus on it.” He also encouraged parents to help their children focus. “We need leaders and they need to have I can, I care attitude. This starts at home. Parents need to set the standards and be consistent.” He explained that the students should give life all they have and surround themselves with positive people as well. “Be persistent with what you want and be positive.”

Tina Haight also was honored during this awards ceremony. Tina was given the FCCLA Honorary Member award. “The members would like to say a special thank you to Tina Haight for the generous donation to the students that were showing at the Ellis County Expo. We had 32 FCCLA members and they divided $1000.00. Lexie Miller received the Reserve Grand Champion with her cake and she received $100.00. We received 12 Blue Ribbons, 12 Red Ribbons, 3 White Ribbons and 11 Yellow Ribbons. We were so very proud of our students. This our way of telling Tina a special thank you,” Megan Hopkins, current President of FCCLA, announced. During the year Tina also invited the group to tour her home. It was a special time for all the members.

2009-2010 FCCLA Officers:

President-Megan Hopkins
Vice President-Drew Windham
2nd Vice President-Lexie Miller
Secretary-Kelli Strickland
Treasurer-Megan Richards
Reporter-Haley Pittmon
Student Advisor-Kaytlyn Bales
Sergeant At Arms-Jameka Copeland

Also presented during this time were the following awards:

Fortnightly Club Award-Lauren Geralds
Sandi Paiano Award-Bryan Michael
Ginger Morgan Award-Megan Hopkins
Maidie Hyles Scholarship-Kelli Strickland

The outstanding Family and Consumer Sciences Awards:

Personal & Family Development

  • Chante Birdsong
  • Brianna Burkhalter
  • Sierra Harris
  • Tonelsa Hughes
  • Mathew Edwards

Nutrition & Food Science

  • Kyonne Birdsong
  • Krystal Johnson
  • Holli Love
  • Bryan Michaels
  • Lisa Olschewsky
  • Brittany Perry
  • Susana Rodriguez


  • Lauren Geralds
  • Krystal Johnson
  • Sha’Darion Jones
  • Holli Love
  • Julia McDaniels
  • Susan Rodriguez
  • Yesenia Rodriguez
  • Lisa Olschewsky
  • Ashley Sierakowski
  • Brandon Souder

Interior Design

  • Kaytlyn Bales
  • Beverly Barnhart
  • Elizabeth Campos
  • Khadijah Davis
  • Cori Jeffords
  • Isaac Medrano
  • Megan Richards
  • Susana Rodriguez
  • Yesenia Rodriguez
  • Alma Suaste


  • Kaytlyn Bales
  • Beverly Barnhart
  • Khadijah Davis
  • Cori Jeffords
  • Sa’Kendra Norwood
  • Yesenia Rodriguez
  • Alma Suaste
  • Drew Windham

Preparation for Parenting

  • Austin Childers
  • Oscar Gonzalez
  • Jase Holden
  • Krystal Johnson
  • Sha’Darion Jones
  • Laura Luna
  • Julia McDaniels
  • Bryan Michael
  • Jonathan Nash
  • Britany Perry
  • Ashley Surakowski

Child Development

  • Oscar Gonzalez
  • Jessica Hernandez
  • Krystal Johnson
  • Laura Luna
  • Jonathan Nash
  • Haley Pittmon
  • Donald Walton

Diversified Careers

  • Lauren Geralds
  • Kelli Strickland
  • Megan Hopkins

FFA 2009-2010 Officers:

President-Dan Crownover
Vice President-Haley Pittmon
Secretary-Drew Windham
Treasurer-Ryan Ashcraft
Reporter-Bailey Bumpus
SEntinel-Matt Brummett
Historian-Jase Holden
Parliamentarian-Jon Walton
Student Advisor-Kyle Wilkins

The FFA gave awards too. The officers performed the opening ceremony. The Star Greenhand award goes to the most outstanding first year student in Ag Science. It is based upon classroom activities, leadership activities and supervised experience program and overall attitude. This year’s winner is Katie Byers.

The Star Chapter Farmer award is presented to the most outstanding FFA member who has attained the chapter FFA degree. This award is based upon classroom activities, FFA involvement, leadership skills demonstrated, supervised experience program and overall attitude. This year’s Star Chapter Farmer is Omar Estrada.

The W.R. Gorman award recognizes an outstanding Italy FFA member who has demonstrated leadership skills, involvement in FFA activities and a desire to improve the Italy FFA chapter. Mr Gorman was the vocational agricultural science teacher at Italy High School from 1947 until his retirement in 1974. During his 27 years of teaching, he touched the lives of many young people. His concern and kindness continue to affect the lives of his former students. The Gorman award goes to Haley Pittmon.

Honorary members were also awarded. This is someone who helped out the Italy FFA in major way, dedicating their time and effort countless times to help this chapter. This year, the awards go to Mr. & Mrs. James Hobbs and Mr. & Mrs. Todd Pittmon.

Greenhand Pins(first year students) were given to:

  • Gus Allen
  • Brandon Jacinto
  • Morgan Cockerham
  • Katie Byers
  • Pedro Cortez
  • Anna Viers
  • Zack Boykin
  • Marcus Surles
  • Alyssa Richards
  • Eduardo Salazar
  • Jake Escamilla
  • Cole Hopkins
  • Ciro Suaste
  • Caden Jacinto
  • Antony Kemp

Chapter Degree Pins were given to:

  • Omar Estada
  • Jase Holden
  • Drenda Burk
  • Clayton Campbell
  • Josh Cedio
  • Alex DeMoss
  • Dylan Jackson
  • Juan Perez
  • Ethan Saxon
  • Ross Stiles
  • Mary Tate
  • Jon Walton
  • Justin Buchanan
  • Bianca Evans
  • David Garner
  • Taylor Mathers
  • Brandon Souder
  • Andrea Lanning

Sonny Dickerson, sponsor of FFA, announced officers for 2010-2011 as they were sworn in:

President-Omar Estrada
Vice President-Bailey Bumpus
Secretary-Katie Byers
Treasurer-Jase Holden
Reporter-Drenda Burke
Sentinel-Matt Brummett
Parliamentarian-Jon Walton
Student Advisor-Alyssa Richards

The FFA would also like to thank the following project buyers. These companies helped the students during the Ellis County Youth Expo:

Haight Ranch
Mill Creek Ranch
Top Cat
HBI Construction
Nelson-Putman Propane
Scott Hopgood